head in the clouds? this reply comes about half a century late, meaning it’s right on time

head in the clouds? this reply comes
about half a century late, meaning it’s right on time

yeah I got this one a lot: get your head out of the clouds.

It never comes as a compliment or from someone who approves, but it’s always an accusation, a move pulled from the offense playbook, to put the accused on the defensive, because in this world, on this earth, there’s not many things more worthy of disapproval than to have your head in the clouds. These admonishments often coming from people who are supposed to be loved ones worthy of trust, it is probably natural to respond as if they are to be trusted and attempts enacted to keep the head (let’s add heart to that) out of the clouds because it’s a bad thing to have your head in the clouds.

This morning this revelation descended and left a thought near my cup of coffee: none of the head-in-the-clouds accusers I recall ever bothered to ask about what goes on in those clouds.

I find this very significant. The assumption is that I manufactured the clouds and all that exists in the clouds; clouds are bad and earth is where the world’s valuable people live, and work, let’s not forget work, because anyone knows, work is completely absent up there (up here) in the clouds.

Well I beg to differ. And I state here and now that having my head and heart in the clouds is nothing I had anything to do with and I’ll not apologize for it or try to hem and haw with an adequate explanation, and I’m done with thinking I need to relocate to the earth, just because a bunch of worldly-respectable earthlings demand it is the right thing to do.

The neatest nugget about this revelation, is that its descent happened after musing on the difference between getting into anything with intentions of ‘getting good’ at it and getting into anything out of sheer love and interest, because the thing itself stirs perpetual arousal/desire/pursuit/submersion.

Anyway, had to share this, now it’s off to the little story-poetry shed by the sea.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in commentary, pep talk, the way I feel about it, thoughts, what I learned today and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

