sideline observances

I’ve learned so much since beginning the self-publishing adventures. Blogging too. About the same thing. Put out pretty much whatever the mind can craft. One ventures into elaboration and sticks a price on it and the other is more casual and open to the public. I like having all the options. On the self-publishing end, as recent as a year ago, I didn’t give much thought to the importance of fonts and sizes of the fonts. Figured as long as it was legible…. first couple efforts went with the default Times New Roman 12. Didn’t think much of it, but now and then looking at them something about them bugged me but the discomfort was more of an undercurrent. Then I stumbled on the virtues of fonts and tried Book Antiqua and really was taken aback by the difference, how the words actually read, subtle presentations that are easier on the eyes. But then I found Garamond and used it for Welcome to Semen Springs. I now look at the one I used Book Antiqua for and while it’s not bad, it’s strangely exciting to notice the difference, the betterment, that good old Garamond brings to the pages.

With this wordpress blog, there are all these themes, and now and then I try a different one, like now, and again, the presentation can affect the feel – were my leanings more on the visual, I’d probably be drawn to something funky, but for the purposes I’m after I want simplicity – don’t want too many distractions from the words themselves. Had the same one for a long time but got a bug to try a different one – like this one – and I’m not sure about it – I like the layout but not crazy that the page for the text feels a bit overbearing.

Little things you learn as you go along.

Now back to crafting.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in books, observation, self-publishing, what I learned today, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

