fine day to figure this out

I had this crazy revelation just a few minutes ago – if you just do your job everything else will fall into place – the challenge is to figure out just what your job is. I don’t think too many people in this mad world are doing their jobs. It ain’t an easy thing to figure out. Maybe a good place to start is to identify and eliminate the jobs you are not fit for. Let those who are fit for them have them and do them. For myself, one thing I ain’t is a salesman or a businessman. I find the science attractive. But to decide say which book or story to try and promote to any given collection of people – or since getting into the zazzle thing, to make the astute choice in what shirt to push in any given segment or on any given platform or anything – not my strength, and I’d not recommend anyone trust my judgment on that.

Had I narrower interests and could be a microscope in focusing, that might be much different. And I think if your job might be to make things, you should be too busy to worry or wonder about who will like or dislike any given thing; that isn’t the maker’s place. I like the idea of a catalog. Let it be made available that such and such works are available, but stop way before pushy persuasion styles. Instead of making something with another hopefully in mind, just make because it’s what you like at the time you’re making. Maybe no one else will want it or like it. That doesn’t matter. You make it anyway. Or do the best you can with what you have at hand. If someone comes along who digs it – then you go from there, and maybe you’ll never see them again or maybe you’ll get to be buddies. Make. Just make. Cut loose the rest.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in art, commentary, creativity, entrepreneurship, pep talk, Uncategorized, what I learned today and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to fine day to figure this out

  1. MKasimA96 says:

    Yep I’ve always been more science minded myself, and can definitely relate to this article. Good writing, I enjoyed reading it 🙂 I’ve followed and ill be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a fellow writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. I’m working on a novel currently and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

