furthering further

this is speculation but a confident speculation: I think of iconic characters, like cartoon characters, that feel as real as anything in the so-called Real World (thinking of Bugs Bunny, Snoopy, Bullwinkle….) and I have to wonder: how did they do that? How did a totally made-up character become real? I bet it’s because they were real to the creators. Maybe they became more real as they went along or maybe they had a lot of reality to them before beginning, but somewhere along the way, those made-up characters were no longer made-up but were very real.

And I speculate this applies across the board to all that is created. I mean it’s one thing to (as has been my tendency for so long) say there is a such and such red car zooming up the road. Or a hand is flashing a penlight in a dark room. Hoping a future reader will see it. But do I see it, really see it? Not clear enough. Is that red car real to me? Even if it is a cartoon car. Is the cartoon real to me? Or is it at least becoming real? the road the car – cartoon or not – zooms along on? if it ain’t real or becoming real…. there’s still a lot of work to do. Here’s the thing: since I realized this, and since trying to train the mind to slow down and get to know these people and places and details, a few have actually formed, and once that starts happening – oh it’s exciting. And there’s no going back.

This brings us to the more practical, living on the earth aspect: the deeper you go the more likely you are to lose contact with those around you – or let’s say, a majority of those around will not appreciate or understand. I think if you do have someone in your world who understands, you have a fistful of pure gold and no expense in act or time or anything should be spared to express how dear they are, because they will be rare. As for the rest? Hey I ain’t saying nothing. Though as they say, it is a small world.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in questions, thoughts, what I learned today, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to furthering further

  1. this is a very enjoyable read – Thank You

    Best Wishes

    john

    Like

Leave a Reply

