2014 #304

So then Glossary
said to History,
“well I’m not sure
I like the sound of
your introduction.”
History said,
“I can’t really help
what the introduction sounds like.
Effects are eschewed. If you mean
the absence of reverb, you may notice

your present setting is a cottage.”
“I don’t mean the reverb or the absence
of reverb or any effects.
Doesn’t matter to me effects are eschewed.
I mean your flat – okay maybe in
the linguistic sense if linguistics
do or do not incorporate
reverb or do or do not eschew
effects in general. I mean your flat
statement or your statement,

your introduction, you stated flatly.”
“Well if I’d known we’d go off on a tangent
or a tangent we’d go off on would go on
this long, I’d not used the nuclear
editor feature. I’d said, ‘I am
a representative of History.’
Unfortunately I cannot rewind
my words because that would call in another
representative of History
and all I’d get is ‘all our History

representatives are busy assisting
other clients. Please hold until
a representative of History
is available’ and we’d have to listen
to antiquated elevator music.”
“So you’re not saying – what caused my pages
to freeze for a second,
the way you said, ‘I am History’
I had to wonder if that was something meant
for me to understand, like, I am

History, like being in a fix
that cannot be fixed, or… or…. rewound.”
“No it isn’t that bad. You did
get beat up pretty bad. You’ll see
the film shortly. Oh you’re in a fix
alright but a fix you can and will
rebound from. You just got beat up is all,
and all kinds of reference publications
get beat up all the time. Angry
adjective started it. Maybe that rings something.”

“Adjective….” Glossary tried to remember.
“Yeah I think – it’s beginning to -”
“Hey and why on earth would – how did
you end up – didn’t you see it was
a dictionary town? Didn’t you see
and didn’t you think maybe there had to be
a better town to stop for a drink in
than a dictionary town? And the darkest
pub in the most isolated
dictionary town in this hemisphere?”

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in poetry, story-poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

