call me molasses for brains

Okay the tumblr venture, had to check it out and as a dirty old man I can sure appreciate the ease in accessing lots of candy for a horny eye. But I don’t feel it is my crowd. I see a lot of what is tagged poetry – well it was good because it made me go on a short research tour where I learned there is a term for what seems prevalent out there and that term would be Confessional and confessional is Autobiographical.

Well I’m all for people writing what they want, doing whatever turns them on; but I’m not much, never was, into the Confessional poetry/literature. So I wonder if there’s a disconnect in that town or it’s more like a county they call Poetry.

I reckon Poetry’s County Seat is largely staffed with Confessional Autobiographers. I might be reckoning wrong. More like conjecturing. Loosely conjecturing. Freely conjecturing.

Suppose it was and they pass a law that said the only poetry they’d recognize as poetry was confessional poetry. I’d have to get the hell out of the county or call what I like to write something other than poetry. Or I’d rack up a mountain of fines.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized, what I learned today, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to call me molasses for brains

Leave a Reply

