vignette exploration (#1)

And then one of those
wandering souls recently
evicted from one of these local crows
waiting for the light
of its dimension diner
to dial in the digital
signal of readiness for service
fell weary from the to and fro pace
and cleared its throat and boldly
dramatized the moment the recently

evicted crow soul cleared its throat
so a certain sleeper brought awake
now had to choose between shooing
the recently evicted crow soul
or seeing it may symbolize
an answer to the tired unanswered
prayer so with half a clumsy shrug,
a certain sleeper slept no more
but said silently since a soul
evicted or fixed in a house

forever is able to hear
without benefit of earthen timbre,
“you must be here to answer my tired,
unanswered prayer. Now I’m not sure I want
that answer, though my tired unanswered prayer
won’t be happy about this truth I reveal.”
“Answer? Prayer? Nah. I’m just waiting for the light
of a diner in my dimension to flicker
so I’ll know it is open and I can go grab
a cup of coffee though their coffee’s

rather crappy but if they served quality
coffee it wouldn’t be the same.
Crazy me I thought you might like to talk
about nothing in particular.”
A few dialog exchanges
an awkwardness tinged briefly batted
back and forth, awkward because the evicted
crow soul saw it erred and all exits
were taking breaks just then but an exit
finally did return to its post

and the evicted crow soul said
now was the time and just when it passed
the cage the tired, unanswered prayer
was kept in, the tired, unanswered prayer
reached twiggy limbs through the wire bars
and beseeched the evicted but very free
crow soul, “please, take me with you,” at which
the evicted but very free crow soul cast
a gaze of displeasure at the one
whose eyes had opened but remained

under the covers, then a short
head shake a dose of sympathy
coupled with what it said to the caged,
tired, unanswered prayer, which went
something like, “sorry doll, I doubt
you’d care for where I’m going. It’s just a dank
diner and the coffee they serve
is pretty crappy and the crowd is not the most
couth. Try to hang in there the best you can
though I’m sure what you’re stuck in sucks.”

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in fiction, new idea, no idea, poetry, practice, streamy, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

