how’s this for a pretentious description

still in the ever-unfolding project of trying to find what it is I really enjoy writing, if I watch movies with good stories or read a good story, I feel I am bereft of the story-telling aptitude.

I did stumble upon the word ‘vignette’ the other day; not the first encounter with that word but encountering it this time revived an interest and call it an easy out via avoidance but if I include it in the latest attempt to describe where I think a reader might enjoy (I’d pluralize that word ‘reader’ but let’s not get greedy) going if they wonder what they’re getting into, the equation might come to a sum that resembles: casual meandering that enters various impressionistic vignettes and after brief or lengthy examination or exploration, moves on and floats in a transition until encountering another scene, and maybe within these meanders a reader can detect seeds of stories or if the execution is smooth enough they won’t care.

And the fact that poetry invites playing with lines and rhythms and accents and such, it is just hard to resist shaping the results of the impressionistic vignette meanderings into stanzas, though a real poet or poetry expert would cringe at the idea of considering it anything close to real poetry. Well that was a long summation. Way too long a summation.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in books, literature, poetry, self-publishing, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to how’s this for a pretentious description

  1. yeoldefoole says:

    but since we don’t actually KNOW any real poets OR poetry experts we’re off the hook and can just have fun!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

