seeking identity, 7

to the reader who happens to be just tuning in, I am at an admittedly casual pace attempting an exercise and attempting it publicly for the sake of inspiring others who might be in relatively similar quandaries.

The hope is that these exercises can produce a somewhat solid answer in the arena of words or word products, so if and when an inquisitive other inquires they can receive something they can go on, preferably something long on brevity. The pulse of these exercises is to instead of focusing and finding the things one cares about, to identify, tag, and eliminate, that which one does not too much care about. So a couple days ago I opened the trusty, real-paper notebook and wrote the first things that came to mind.

So far we’ve eliminated: fancy stuff, family values, morality-moral lessons; meaning, my heart bears little if any ill will towards those who do get into those things or care about those thing, but I personally can’t get too interested in them, thus, should someone out there wonder if they’d like to invest their valuable time in reading just about anything I wrote, and fancy stuff, family values, morality and moral lessons, etc, compose high level interests, then maybe they could get the heads-up and we can nod cordially to one another while we mosey on our respectively separate ways.

I see the next on the list is Celebrities. Meaning I don’t give much of a shit about celebrities. Meaning I’ve no wish to see them suffer. But I just don’t give much of a shit what they do. I do not read celebrity news. I am familiar with names only because you see them plastered on the internet and television. I don’t care who won or did not win an Oscar and I surely don’t give a shit about the dress any celebrity wore or did not wear to any given awards function.

Oh and I can’t stand reality tv. Can’t stand those people. Can’t stand the people who foist this garbage onto the world. I just don’t see how anyone could act normally or act as though no one is watching, or be their true real selves when there’s a camera crew hanging around.

So: if celebrities are important to you and if you enjoy and keep up with almost any reality tv show, and if you fancy the fancy and value family values and morality and lessons in morality, it might be safe to say we inhabit disparate demographic regions.

But. How can this exercise help bring the answer closer? Hm. Don’t think it is closer. Don’t think it is.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in project, thoughts, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

