another oldie – Carpets

there was a knock at the door
and it was two pretty women
seeking to demonstrate
a famed vacuum cleaner brand
with a free carpet cleaning.

Now this exchange
did not move along super
smooth because my native tongue
is not theirs nor theirs mine, though they
knew mine better than I by now know theirs.

Now had I been a single man
and a younger man or
at least an amoral man
I would’ve certainly invited them
to please enter within so to show me

how thoroughly they could
no doubt cleanse carpeting.
But being a man who is not single
nor at all an amoral man
and that the one they needed

to speak to about this was not
at that moment at home, I
assured them I would pass
along the offer and gesture,
and asked they return another day,

to which they indicated
names and numbers were on
the coupon thing they’d handed me,
and I said Okay,
well I’ll pass it along

and maybe you’ll get a call.
We bade adieus
and I tried to make my imagination
obey as well as the deep inside
masculine response team who’d been dozing

but certainly did not doze now;
but I made them obey and behave
as I closed the door and made to return
to what I’d been doing which called
for a walk across the apartment floor,

when I was bade by a voice to stop
so I did, stopped, then looked down, around.
Wait a minute – we don’t have carpeting.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in poem, poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

