voices

I’m finding that one of the hardest things about all this is not the finding of a voice but figuring out which is the natural voice.

They talk about voices. I love to play with voices. Thing is, I’ve ended up with a collection I favor, but I’m not sure if they are mine or just adopted. I fear they are adopted. Probably not hard to do: as you journey to find your voice, encountering those that appeal and taking them, adopting them, yes adopting them as your own.

What I noticed: the majority of the posts that garnered the most Likes were me just rambling, chatting, letting thoughts roll off the mind through the fingers. Not thinking too hard. Very little concern for editing or structuring or even anything artsy.

So that was the basis of the last run of posts: wondered about using that kind of casual, rambling voice, except making stuff up, and then breaking it all into stanzas – maybe one quick run-through edit-touch-up. They mostly flowed out with little effort. Not saying they are literary masterpieces. That’s another thing: seems like the greater the concern for ‘literary quality’ the more Yuck that ends up in the thing. But this flies against all convention. The idea of painstakingly examining every word and punctuation. Making something ‘artsy’.

Don’t know. No answers. Not sure I want any answers. Not sure I want to let those adopted voices go free either. Why not incorporate? Have them at hand. Why not have a stable of voices? Start with the natural but bring in others as it feels right?

Don’t know. Kinda like it that I don’t know. Nah, the voices ain’t going nowhere, no matter how they whine. Just pour them more wine; send more saucy strumpets to their compartments.

Yeah I confess: Voices. Love to play with voices.

About Timmy the Scribbler

Love to write all kinds of stuff I love writing so many different kinds of stuff it is a constant struggle to narrow the focus to a manageable handful and let the others go. But a few years ago I dipped my fingers into a poetry pie and of all my uncertainties, one thing that is no uncertainty is that it is one passion that must remain, so maybe that's the one. I do dearly delight in chopping up fictional works into stanzas and syllables.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

